Doug Wants to be a Ski Instructor?

Back in October I helped out at our ski club’s booth at the Boston Mills Ski Fair.  It was a great time to meet other skiers and get each other in the mood.  Fellow ski bums were there and talking about skiing was getting us in the mood.

I got to talking with some of the ski instructors at Boston Mills, one of whom is a member of our ski club.  They began telling me how much fun they have teaching and how much they learn about skiing as well.  Not only that ski instructors receive a number of other perks like deeply discounted ski equipment and lift tickets from ski areas across the country.

I have to admit I considered becoming a ski instructor in the past but I was put off by the number of hours they wanted.  The one instructor, who is one of the head instructors, assured me the hours commitment is not that onerous.  “Give it a try” she encouraged, “during off times you get to ski for free.”  “Uhmm,” I replied, feeling the urge to be impulsive.  She handed me a general information form and said “think about it.”

Think about it I did.  That night I had dreams of teaching mogul mites how to zip through the bumps.  I admit a powerful draw is the prospect of free skiing (or at least super discounted lift tickets) at any ski area along with super discounted prices on ski equipment.  Not only that, since the equipment is job related (yes, I’ll be paid for doing this), whatever I buy is TAX DEDUCTIBLE!  I had to remind myself that this should not be the primary reason for wanting to teach skiing.  Our pastor at church want us (especially the men) to reach out to young people who might need an adult mentor.  Being a Big Brother or tutoring a kid on reading really isn’t my thing, but teaching youngsters how to ski is.  I think I might like sharing with young people the sport I love so much.  Who knows, maybe it might also make a positive difference in one young person’s personal life.  Consequently, that  Sunday morning I decided to take the plunge and filled out their on-line application form.

A few weeks later I received an e-mail from Boston Mills informing me ski instructor training was to begin the next Sunday and for the next 3 Sundays after that.  Before becoming an instructor I have to take the course and demonstrate I have good communication and people skills.  Turns out, they’re more interested in one’s communication skills than their skiing ability.  In their opinion they can teach you to ski better but not how to communicate with others.

After the initial 4 session basic training they then have on-the-slope training and finally an instructor shadows you to see how well you teach.  At that point they offer you a formal job (yes, I would actually be paid to do this) and you become an actual ski instructor.  Wish me luck.

About skibums

Psychologist, skier, ski instructor, photographer, bicyclist.
This entry was posted in Skiing, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment